Pick a Category

HWSETA Health and Welfare SETA

The Health and Welfare
Sector Education and Training Authority (HWSETA)
is one of twenty-three
statutory bodies established within the legislative framework of the Skills
Development Act, 1998.

The HWSETA has been established to facilitate skills development in the health
and social development sector to ensure that the skills needs are identified
and addressed through a number of initiatives by the SETA and the sector.

Information Website

SHE Emergency Planning

The person credited with this unit standard is able to distinguish between an emergency and an incident as well as understanding the different types of emergencies
that may take place in the workplace. The learners will be able to explain the types of emergency alarms in the workplace, the procedures for responding to them and
the methods and procedures which need to be applied in an assembly area after an alarm. After completion you will receive a certificate.

Hazardous Material Awareness

Hazardous Material Awareness (HAZMAT) teaches you about different substances/chemicals which may be dangerous or lethal. It is very informative and plays a large role in the workplace. You will learn to Identify, monitor and implement appropriate preventative measures for exposure to hazardous substances through knowledge of classification, physical states,
health effects and disposal methods of hazardous substances in the workplace. You will receive a certificate on completion of this course.

OHS for Supervisors & Managers

Occupational Health & Safety for Supervisors/Managers (HS5) (Incorporating.OHS & COID Act/s & HIRAC) Learners credited with this unit standard will be able to explain the importance of integrating safety and health considerations in routine activities within the workplace and identify the critical areas in order to prevent incidents taking place. Learners will be able to measure safety performance against established objectives, deal with any deviations from the set objectives and make recommendations on the development of the safety and health management programme.

Accident/Incident Investigation

Accident/Incident Investigation & Reporting Methodology (HS4)is also a very important Occupational Health & Safety Legal Requirement.The person credited with this unit standard is able to identify and explain the legal and organisational-specific requirements regulating the reporting and investigation of workplace incidents. The learners will be able to complete the required reports and be able to process any physical evidence which may have been collected. A certificate is issued out after completion of the course.

Health & Safety Representative (SHE)

The person credited with this unit standard is able to understand the objectives and statutory requirements pertaining to health and safety in the workplace. The
learners will be able to explain the rights, powers, functions and duties of the workplace health and safety representative and how any errant health, safety and
environmental issues may be handled. Learners will also be able to participate in the safety, health and environmental structures and measure these activities according

First Aid Level 2

First Aid Level 2 (FA2) This Unit Standard will enable employees to provide primary emergency care (first aid) in response to an occupational risk induced or any health emergency in their specific workplaces.

Content: This unit standard covers the recognition and management of the following range of emergencies for adults, children and infants according to current and
accepted emergency care protocols and principles:

First Aid Level 1

Level 1 First Aid (FA1)

People credited with this unit standard are able to:

 Recognise and manage a range of emergencies according to the prescribed protocols
 Render basic First Aid to the community even if the required resources have to be improvised.


Intermediate Fire Fighting & Prevention

Purpose: Qualifying learners can select and use the appropriate fire fighting equipment to extinguish or control fires in the workplace. On successful
completion, candidates can lead a fire team.


Basic Fire Fighting

Basic Fire Fighting (FR 1)

A learner credited with this unit standard will be capable of identifying, containing, preventing and extinguishing different types of fires by operating basic fire fighting


 Electricity, spontaneous combustion, chemical reactions, liquefied petroleum gas and the different Classes A, B, C and D fires.
 Legal, financial and personal implications and procedures
 Fire extinguishers, fire hoses, hose reels and their use
 Symbols on extinguishers

name, "taxonomy/term/$term->tid"); } if(count($items)) { print theme('item_list', array('items' => $items)); } } ?>
name, "taxonomy/term/$term->tid"); } if(count($items)) { print theme('item_list', array('items' => $items)); } } ?>

Need Help, Online Study Group, College SA


Ideal Crew, job hunting


Courier upgrade, College SA